top of page
Search
Autumn Tashman

On Mackinac

Updated: Apr 28, 2021

I've never experienced a dull moment on Mackinac Island. It's hard to do so when everything about it creates the happiest and most welcoming atmosphere, all while being surrounded by people I love. I think that being a No Car Zone gives the island its flavorーonce the cars are eliminated, on comes people's detachment from reality for their weekend getaways, in the best way possible. The island is filled with all things that I love: shopping, happy people, horses, bikes, and fudge! I decided to investigate further on Mackinac Island's rich history and fun activities because I've grown to fall in love with its beauty and easy-going nature throughout my five stays. If a vacation can succeed in keeping my mind at ease with all of the chaos that normally runs through it, then the vacation is a pretty exemplary one in my book.


Through all the fudge I've eaten, restaurants I've visited (the Pink Pony being one of the highest on my list), horses I've encountered, and trails I've trekked, I'd say that my favorite memory on the island comes from a tandem bike experience with my best friend. It's been a tradition of ours to take on the tandem bikes for every visit that we make, and each time winds up with a rocky start. Every single tandem bike we've ever rented were fit for people who were much taller than us. It felt like all eyes were on us as we struggled trying to hop on the bike, while maintaining coordination at the same time. I'd say it was quite the experience for us as well as the horse that we almost ran into! Luckily, life always seems to work itself out, and we'd picked up the pace of the bike just in time before any "horse-on" collisions. Nonetheless, biking while feeling the cool breeze on my skin while watching the drop-dead gorgeous sunsets by the bridge at dusk are moments that I can't wait to experience again.






27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page